Model Operations

You can perform the following operations on a model:

Creating a Model

To create a model, click the Create Model icon in the My Process Models panel toolbar.

The model with Structured Type, Data, Applications and Participants node gets created.

Renaming a Model

To rename a model, in the My Process Models panel, right-click the model name and select the Rename option. Specify the new name.


Figure: Rename Model

Note that new model ID does not get regenerated when you rename a model. But you can edit the model ID field in the Integrator profile. Rename can be performed in the My Process Models panel and property panel of the element.

Deleting a Model

To delete a model, in the My Process Models panel, right-click the model name and select the Delete option.


Figure: Delete Model

Click Yes in the Confirm dialog to delete the model.

Importing a Model

To import a model, click the Import Model icon in the My Process Models panel toolbar. The File Upload dialog box gets displayed.


Figure: File Upload

Click Browse to locate the .XPDL file and click Upload.

Models created in the Eclipse-based modeler should support BPMN drawing mode (pools and lanes). When imported, only those models are displayed in the Modeling Perspective. If you import a model which supports Classic drawing mode of Eclipse, then the following message is displayed in the process diagram message area. This message is displayed when you try to open the process stored in Classic drawing mode.


Figure: Import Model with Classic Mode

Note: An Eclipse-based model older than the current version should be upgraded and saved in Eclipse and then imported in the Modeling perspective.

If the model of the same name already exists then the following confirmation dialog is displayed.


Figure: Import Model

If you click Continue the new version of the existing process model gets created and displayed.

If you perform Delete or Rename operation and click Import, without saving or refreshing the models, then the following warning is displayed. You must save all the models prior to import operation.


Figure: Import Model - Warning

Saving All Models

To save models, click the Save All Models icon in the My Process Models panel toolbar. All the models under My Process Models gets saved. However, note that the Save All Models action does not save the models marked as Read-only. For more information, please refer to the section Save All Models of the Panels chapter.

Downloading a Model

To download a model, in the My Process Models panel, right-click the model name and select the Download Model option.


Figure: Download Model

The model download dialog gets displayed. By default, the Save File option is selected. Click OK. The model gets saved at default location on your machine.


Figure: Download Model - Save File

If you want to open the XPDL file, select the Open with option.


Figure: Download Model - Open with

Click Browse to choose the compatible application to open the XPDL file. Select the the application and click OK.


Figure: Open with - Choose Helper Application

The XPDL file opens in the specified application.

Deploying a Model

When deploying a model, you can create a new version of the model using the Create New Version option. To overwrite the last deployed version of the model, select the option Overwrite Last Model Version.

Creating a new Version

To deploy a model, in the My Process Models panel, right-click the model name and select Deploy (Create New Version) option.


Figure: Deploy Create New Version

In the Deploy New Model dialog, click Finish.


Figure: Deploy New Model

If the deployment is successful then the deployment Status is displayed as . Click Finish. The model gets deployed.


Figure: Deploy Model - Successful

If the deployment fails then the deployment Status is displayed as icon along with errors and warnings. In this case, the model is not deployed.


Figure: Deploy Model - Successful

Overwrite Last Model Version

To overwrite last model version, right-click the model name and select Deploy (Overwrite Last Version) option.


Figure: Deploy Overwrite Last Version

The Overwrite Model (Version <Number, Model OID>) dialog is displayed. Click Finish to overwrite the model.


Figure: Overwrite Last Model Version

Note that if no version of the model exists, then the Deploy New Model dialog is displayed.

Deploying Referenced Models

In case of referenced models, you should deploy the models in the following order always:

  1. Deploy Provider Models
  2. Deploy Consumer Models

If the deployment sequence is not followed, then the references are not resolved and models don't get deployed. In case of multiple provider and consumer models, first, all the provider models should be deployed and then the deployment of consumer models should take place.

Deleting Referenced Models

You cannot delete a referenced model as running process instances are using this model via model element references. If you try to delete the referenced model, following error message is displayed:


Figure: Deleting Referenced Model - Error Message

Known Issue with Conditional Performer set as Lane Participant

If your model contains a lane with a conditional performer set as participant, you might get a deployment error saying that the performer is not set to the activity. You can do the following to be able to deploy the model anyway:

  1. Select the lane property where the activity does not get the participant
  2. Select any other participant and save the model
  3. Revert these changes

Now you can deploy your model.

Changing the Version Number of a Model

You have the option to change the version of a model:

  1. Right-click the model and select Change Version

    Change the Model Version

  2. A dialog opens to enter the new version.

  3. Click OK to confirm the model version number change or Cancel to discard your changes.

The new version number will be stored in the model XPDL file and is updated in the general model properties section.

Change the Model Version
Figure: Changed v odel version number displayed in Model properties dialog