The Infinity Process Platform runtime environment allows you to maintain multiple revisions of a workflow model. Different model files with identical model IDs are considered versions of the same model. They can be deployed as new versions of or to overwrite specific versions of the model already deployed. Infinity Process Platform handles multiple versions of the model transparently for the user.
After the first base version of the model has been deployed to the audit trail database
Each model deployed has a validity period specified by the start and end time of validity. If the model does not specify the start or the end time, that boundary is considered unlimited.
Models may have overlapping validity periods. In that case, an explicit priority assigned to the model at deployment time will be used to determine the active model. Models can also be enabled or disabled with a flag that can be set at deployment time or by a later change of the deployed model version.
Thus, a model is defined as active if it is not disabled, the current time is between the start and end validity period of the model and it has the highest priority among the models satisfying the previous criteria.
At the point of deployment of subsequent versions to the same audit trail database, the following operations occur:
In this way, an arbitrary number of versions can be deployed to the same runtime environment and coexist. However, there will be always at most one active version. New process instances will exclusively be started based on the process definitions of this model version.
For details on versioning handling when using multi model audit trail setups, refer to the section Versioning Handling of chapter Deploying Different Models into One Runtime in the Multi Model Audit Trail Setups concepts part.
When deleting a model version having participants that do not exist in any other model version, also the grants in model elements given to these participants will be deleted from the other model versions. In case the participants exist in other model versions, the grants remain.
For example a first model version has two participants and in the next model version two more participants are added and given some permissions. In case the second model version is deleted, also the grants given to the participants added to this model are deleted, as the participants do not exist in another version. If on the other hand a third model version is created having these participants and the second model version is deleted, the permissions will remain as they are still used in version three.