Creating and Editing User Accounts

You can create, edit and invalidate user accounts in the Participant Manager view, which you can open from the Administration Perspective launch panel.


Figure: Participant Manager View

Getting an Overview over all Users

The Users table contains entries for all users.

Users Table
Figure: Users Table

Icons are provided in the toolbar to invoke the User Dialog to create new users, invalidate users and copy users. The toolbar actions are applied to user(s) selected in the table.

User Statistics

The Users section on top of the view provides a statistic about how many users are present and how many of those are valid users.

Users Statistics
Figure: User Statistics

Users Table Content

The following user data is displayed:

Sorting of the users table is available for columns OID and Account.

All columns can be filtered. Please refer to chapter Filtering and Sorting Data Entries for details.

Invalid Users

A user is invalid if the Valid To field is set to a valid date value between 1. Jan 1970 and the current system date. Note that values earlier than 1 January 1970 does not invalidate the user!

Selecting Columns

To select the columns that should be displayed in the Users table, click the Select Columns Select Columns icon in the toolbar. Please refer to chapter Selecting and Reordering Columns in Tables for details on selecting columns in tables.

Exporting the User Table as CSV

You have the option to export the Users table as CSV. Click one of the Export / Export icons in the toolbar. Please refer to chapter Exporting Table Content for details on exporting table content.

Refreshing the Users Table

To refresh the Users table, click the Refresh icon in the toolbar.

Creating a new User

To create a new user, select the Create User icon Add User in the toolbar.

Create a New User
Figure: Create a New User

A dialog pops up with entry fields for the user details. The fields marked with an asterisk are mandatory.


Figure: Enter Basic User Data.

Modifying a User

You can modify the properties of a user by clicking on its name entry in the user management table.

Modify User Data
Figure: Click Name to Modify User Data

A dialog pops up, where you can fill in the user information accordingly.


Figure: Modify the User Data.

Copying User Details

Administrator can create users and assign organization and roles to the user using the copy user icon. It allows administrator to create a new user and grant authorization based on an existing user.

To copy a user:

  1. Select the user in the table. If exactly one user is selected, the Copy User icon gets enabled. The option is not available if more than one user is selected.
  2. Click the Copy User icon

    Copy User

  3. The Create User Dialog opens.

    Copy User Details

  4. Provide basic details for the copied user.

    Copy User Example

  5. Click Apply to copy the user with the added details or Cancel to cancel the operation.

The new user is created with the same organization, roles and user group association of the existing user.

Example

A user Cityman, Frank is assigned to roles Salesperson and to role Manager in organization Headquarter.

Copy User Example
Figure: User association of Doodle, Robert

After copying this user via the Copy option as described above, you see the new user also associated with roles Manager and Salesperson.

Copy User Example
Figure: Copy User

Invalidating Users

The invalidate icon Invalidate User in the toolbar is enabled in case one or more users are selected in the table. You can select multiple users via CTRL+Click or Shift+Click.

Click the Invalidate User icon to start the invalidate operation.


Figure: Invalidating a user

Invalidating Users having delegated Activities

In case activities and default case activities are delegated to the user(s) to be invalidated, a dialog opens to ask whether these activities should be delegated to the default participant performer.


Figure: Confirmation Dialog Box

If selecting No, the activities remain in the user worklist. In case of default case activities, though you click Yes or No, the default case activities go to Stranded Activity View. To review and delegate these activities to another participant, use the Stranded Activities View of the Control Center perspective. For details refer to chapter Monitoring Stranded Activities for details on this view.


Figure: Stranded Activities Alert Dialog Box

Success Notification

A dialog opens to notify if the invalidation of the user was successful.

Confirm Invalidation
Figure: Confirm Invalidate Operation.

Invalidation fails in the following cases:

Please note that the invalidate operation cannot be performed on the default administration user.

Hiding invalidated Users

You can hide invalidated users in the table. Click the Hide Invalidated Users icon in the toolbar to display only valid users. The icon is displayed as inactive. To show invalidated users, click the icon again.